STOP THE GOOGLE+ TRAIN! I WANT TO GET OFF!
If this is you, and you don't like Google+, you can stop. Google realises that not everyone will like it, and some may want to stop using it, after joining it...
"We understand that your identity on Google+ is important to you, and our Name Policy may not be for everyone at this time. We’d hate to see you go, but if you choose to leave, make a copy of your Google+ data first. Then click here to leave Google+."
That seems fairly easy, but, what is my Google+ data, and can I stop without deleting my Google Profile, as well? What about my Google Account?
The answers to those questions are as follows.
Google+ Data is, according to Google, your photos, profile information, contacts, circles, stream posts, and Buzz posts. Google allows you to make a back-up copy of this information, and to download it to your computer. Google does this through their new Google Takeout, and that is brought to you by a service called - wait for it - The Data Liberation Front! Give me strength! (Sounds like some radical 'Save the World' group, to me.) Anyway, if you want to download a copy of your data, you start from this screen ...
Then, to keep your security in tact, you have to re-sign in, although your are already signed-in ...
Then, you get this screen, where you choose which information you want to include in the 'archive' ...
Once you select which data you want, you click on 'Create Archive', and watch as the pretty green lines fill up...
Then, when the green lines have completed, you see this next screen, where you'll need to click on DOWNLOAD. Once again, you'll need to sign-in, then you'll be able to select where, on your computer, you want to store the files.
WARNING: Naturally, this can be a very large file download!
Once the download is complete, check your Folder to make sure everything is correct.
OK. Your Data Information has now been copied, and you are ready to kill the account - that's your Google+ account, NOT your Google Account! Phew! Google calls it 'Downgrading from Google+' ...
Your Google Profile will NOT be deleted unless you choose to do that! Don't click the wrong box!
This next screen is called - 'Delete Google+ Content or Your Entire Google Profile.' It states -
"If you delete Google+, Google attempts to restore your experience of other Google products to the way it was before you joined Google+ and to permanently delete your Google+ circles, posts, and comments. If you delete your Google profile, you delete Google+ as well as other services and their data that depend on a Google profile..."
Have a really good look at this last image, folks! If you have associated accounts and information, you best make sure all the information is backed-up before you tick the box and execute the command!
You'll see on the above image, the last section - Your Public Google Profile will be removed. Under that, it states in a dot point, that "Deleting your public profile will not affect the status of your Google Account."
Then, under that is - "Other Google products which require a profile will be impacted."
NOTE: The last option on the above images is:
REQUIRED: I understand that deleting this service can't be undone and the data I delete can't be restored.
Don't confuse Downgrading with Deletion (as is one of the options on Google+ Account Overview - Services).
Now, there's some choices for you!