Many people prefer NOT to have certain people in their own Circles, or Extended Circles, or be in their (the other person's) Circles. In other words, they don't want to be associated with 'that' person, in any way. You can't stop an anonymous following, but you can block a Public Follower, or Reader. According to Google+ Help, when you block someone ...
- You won't see their content in your stream (even though you'll remain in their circles).
- They'll be removed from any circles of yours that they appear in.
- They'll be removed from your extended circles, even if you have mutual connections.
- They won't be able to add new comments to your content. However, comments they made before you blocked them will still be visible and can be deleted or reported.
- They won't be able to see your comments on other people's posts.
- They won't be able to view any of your posts that you share after blocking them.
- They won't be able to mention you in posts or comments.
So, how do you do it? The first step is to read the guidelines:
Google+ Help can be found here -
The information on 'Blocking' can be found here -
- First, you either find the individual on your G+ site, or go to your Profile and click on his/her Profile avatar. This takes you to his/her Profile.
- Click on the Gear Wheel on the right-hand side, and select 'Report / Block the name of the individual
- You don't want to Report the Profile of the person, so that selection is made, - Just BLOCK him/her.
- You're finished. See next two images ...