Links



The images above, are actual Image Links, and are click-able. Use them to navigate to the sites indicated!

Tuesday, 30 April 2013

File Formatting, and MS Picture Manager



Last month, I was uploading heaps of photos to the website, for my Family Tree, when I came across a problem. The photos were not appearing - in fact, they weren't even uploading! "Oh, sh*&/%$, what could be wrong?" After repeatedly cursing, gnashing teeth, and scratching my head, or all, at the same time, ('cos I'm male, and have proved I can do many things at once), the 'penny dropped'. File format! Check it, and at the same time, find out which file formats this damned site accepts (another multi-tasking experience).

Having sourced the photos from many places, including the web, and there are many different file formats... BMP, PNG, TIFF, JPEG, GIF, RAW, PPM etc, it was a good bet that some were maybe corrupted, or of the wrong format. Ironically, the photos I was having trouble uploading were PNG format. Apparently, the site I was adding them to, didn't accept that format! Bingo... but, what was I to do about it? - *&^%$ !

From experience, I remembered that MS Picture Manager has an Export feature for file format changes, and file replacement. This was a must, to solve my problem.

1. Open MS Picture Manager and upload the questionable image.
Click on File, then Export.





2. Check the image is all set for export




3. Select the File Format you require




4. Replace the File and Save




This could be the answer to some people's problems uploading images in Blogger, too, although Blogger allows several format types.

TOP

Photo Uploading - Troubleshooting.



Many people, (bloggers), report trouble when trying to upload photos to their blogs. The reasons for this could be many, but generally fall into areas in which you can help yourselves - if you know what to look for, or test for. Blogger Help is a good starting point for troubleshooting -


  • You can upload images in JPG, GIF, PNG, TIF, or BMP format. Export them if they are of a different, and change the format, replacing the file. It's easily done through MS Picture Manager.
  • Turn off your popup blocker. Sometimes popup blockers will prevent the image upload window from appearing. You can also add Blogger.com as an approved site in your popup blocker settings, so you don't have to disable it entirely.
  • Disable any plugins you have installed on your browser. Plugins can occasionally cause incompatibilities with some web applications, like Blogger's post editor, so it's good to test this and see if it has any effect.
  • Try using a different browser. The latest version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Windows Internet Explorer will usually give the best results. If you're already using one of those, give the others a try.
  • Clear your browser's cache and cookies. Always recommended, in case the problem has already been resolved but you're still getting old data from your browser.
  • Make sure you click the Add selected button. The upload process isn't actually complete until you click Add selected on the final screen. Just closing the window will prevent the image from appearing in your post.
  • Check your limits. Blogger allows you up to 1 GB of total storage, shared with Picasa Web.
  • If you are posting pictures through Blogger Mobile there is a limit of 250K per picture.


TOP

Monday, 29 April 2013

Google+ Comments - and Permissions



The new Google+ Comments has various differences to the old Blogger comments. One in particular, is the inability of this feature to run in conjunction with a Private Blog.

As a result of this inability, a change in the way your Settings page is presented, and functions, is apparent. If Google+ Comments is selected, the Reader choice for Permissions, is not visible, and the ability to alter the readership, is diminished. You have to delete Google+ Comments before you can change your blog to Private, therefore reverting to the Blogger system, for Comments.



Notice that you have NO choice to select what type of readership you want to allow, with Google+ Comments in place. However, should you wish to limit the blog to a select readership, it is a simple matter to delete Google+ Comments.

TOP

Tuesday, 23 April 2013

Google+ Comments. Installing them, and Un-installing them



Google has introduced a new OPTIONAL Commenting system which links your Google Profile and your Blog, with your Circles - should you wish to 'Share' them. It is called Google+ Comments. By now, most bloggers would be aware of it, and may be wondering whether to try it on their blogs.

Firstly, it is extremely easy to install, from your Dashboard, and just as easy to delete. It's as simple as checking, and un--checking the box.



The system looks shiny, and new. I don't mind it, and have no particular leaning towards either commenting system - at present, but there are a few features which cause me to ask, WHY? You can read about it - HERE

The Google+ Comments system is:
  • Limiting - not everyone can comment. Google+ Comments are unsupported on non-public blogs and blogs marked as containing adult content.
  • Google+ Comments do not, at this stage, have a count. There is no way to find out how many comments you have on a post, without searching the post.
  • If a comment is not shared with the blog author, the blog author will not be able to see the comment - in either location.
  • A private comment can be made on your post, which you cannot see.
  • People (Readers) who do not have a Google+ account profile, can't comment. They will be given the opportunity to create one.
  • ... and lots more.


A discussion Group has been set up, by Nitecruzr, for your say - HERE. I'll be interested to see your thoughts.

TOP

Thursday, 4 April 2013

Blocking a Reader on Google+



Many people prefer NOT to have certain people in their own Circles, or Extended Circles, or be in their (the other person's) Circles. In other words, they don't want to be associated with 'that' person, in any way. You can't stop an anonymous following, but you can block a Public Follower, or Reader. According to Google+ Help, when you block someone ...

  • You won't see their content in your stream (even though you'll remain in their circles).
  • They'll be removed from any circles of yours that they appear in.
  • They'll be removed from your extended circles, even if you have mutual connections.
  • They won't be able to add new comments to your content. However, comments they made before you blocked them will still be visible and can be deleted or reported.
  • They won't be able to see your comments on other people's posts.
  • They won't be able to view any of your posts that you share after blocking them.
  • They won't be able to mention you in posts or comments.


So, how do you do it? The first step is to read the guidelines:

Google+ Help can be found here -



The information on 'Blocking' can be found here -



  • First, you either find the individual on your G+ site, or go to your Profile and click on his/her Profile avatar. This takes you to his/her Profile.
  • Click on the Gear Wheel on the right-hand side, and select 'Report / Block the name of the individual
  • You don't want to Report the Profile of the person, so that selection is made, - Just BLOCK him/her.
  • You're finished. See next two images ...







Happy trails!

TOP